Hello! I’m Alex. 

There are a great amount of you (readers) who have not heard of WordPress or myself and this is my very first introductory post so I’m going out on a limb and say you have not read my previous material!

I’m going to start with why I’m starting a blog site (how I hate that B word) and what I plan to do in the future. There are countless talented writers who I met via writing forums and classes in my town. One of these writers mentioned the benefits of online publishing, and naturally I was hesitant to try it out. 

Of course, curiosity kills the cat! I may have found an obsession with siting and ebooks because I found out how easy it is to sell online. This generally goes for anything and not just books. My mother wants to sell products online as well so what do we have, Amazon? eBay? WordPress! 

Perhaps if you want to get your concepts (in my case, stories) read there are plenty of eyes and ears on the Internet. 

I want to start pricing my books only to an extent and because in the writing world it is tough to get a reader. I barely had enough downloads on my short stories to make it worthwhile so for a novel which generally would have between 80,000 to 100,000 words I would suspect there being a tremendous amount of pressure for it to be read. 

I still dislike the idea of selling novels through Amazon unless a: it has beta readers, b: it is a single book without sequels and c: you have other books that have NOT been published. I do however believe it’s a good step to build yourself as a writer if you ever plan on being traditionally published. 

Until I gather up more knowledge on ebook marketing and selling, I’m going to stop there. On my next post, I may discuss queary letters, topics and rejections. 

In the meantime, enjoy your bouts of frustration/excitement on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

